normal labour

True labour (in partu) :

1) regular contractions 10.4.40  ,within 10 minutes there are 4 contractions and each contraction for 40 seconds.  (palpable uterine contraction at the fundus)

2) “show” : a little blood and mucus discharged from the vagina

3) progressive dilatation and effacement of cervix. Cervical dilatation is gauged by vaginal examination and is expressed in the diameter across the cervix.



Stages in normal labour :

Normal Labour is the process of expulsion of a mature fetus with the placenta and membranes in a labor which is spontaneous and uncomplicated. It is divided into three stages:

Stage I: Stage I lasts from the onset of labour to full dilation of the cervix. In a woman in her first pregnancy, this stage lasts for about 10 to 12 hours. In a woman who has delivered earlier, it lasts from 6 to 8 hours.

The First Stage is again divided into three phases:

Phase I: This is the longest and least painful phase of the entire duration of labour. It starts from the time when the cervix first starts to dilate to the time when the cervix is 4 cm dilated. It is also called the ‘Latent phase’ of labour or the ‘Early phase’ of labour. It can last for days and can occur with only the mildest discomfort to the pregnant woman.

Phase II: This is a more active phase of labour. The cervix dilates from 4 cm to 8 cm during this phase. The contractions are more painful , of longer duration and come more regularly. It is also called the ‘middle phase ‘ of labour.

Phase III: During this phase, the cervix dilates from 8 cm to 10 cm . At 10 cms, the cervix is fully dilated and the baby’s head can come out of the uterus safely and easily. This phase is also called the ‘transition phase’ of labour since it marks the transition of the First stage of labour to the stage stage.

Stage II :lasts from the full dilatation of the cervix to the expulsion of the baby. In a first pregnancy, it lasts for about 1- 2 hour, in subsequent pregnancies, it lasts for about ½ hour.

This stage ( second stage) is a stage when the baby’s head is travelling down the vaginal canal to be delivered. The contractions are very painful and run into each other, appearing to produce almost continuous pain.

Stage III : lasts from the birth of the baby to the expulsion of the placenta and the membranes. It lasts for about 15 – 20 minutes in both first and later pregnancies. The third stage is comparatively less painful and is characterised by a gush of bleeding at the time the placenta separates from the uterus.

stages1finally ..


thank you mommy! susah payah lahirkan aku*

cintai lah ummi, ummi, ummi!

*sgt sgt sgt sakit sekali melahirkan seorg bayi.. kesakitan nya digambarkan sebagai kesakitan kedua selepas kesakitan sebuah kematian*


hargailah ibu kamu. cintai lah mereka. *Jgn lupa diri*

hargai lah isteri kamu yg sedang pregnant, yg telah melahirkan anak2 mu

hargai seorg wanita..kerna wanita itu sgt istimewa

i’m proud to be a woman 😉

cik bulan

3 Responses so far »

  1. 2

    etomyam said,

    salam and interesting, very interesting

  2. 3

    !x0r@ said,

    Err..sound scary! rasa takut je nak beranak.. tp bila pikir positif balik, mak saya selamba je beranak 8 kali. jadi, saya tolak tepi laa rasa takut tu. ehhe. 😆

Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: